News Story

City of Cedar Hill Welcomes New Director of Economic Development

View All News & Events

August 1, 2022


The City of Cedar Hill has named Henry Florsheim as the City’s new Economic Development Director, effective August 1. Florsheim brings more than 20 years of experience in economic development, marketing, and strategic partnerships to Cedar Hill. Most recently he served as the President and CEO of the Wichita Falls Chamber of Commerce, leading economic development efforts for that community. Under Florsheim’s leadership, Wichita Falls has won statewide awards for marketing and economic development and has landed well over $300 million in capital investment for the region.

 “Henry’s wealth of experience in both traditional economic development and innovative new programs makes him a great fit for Cedar Hill,” said Cedar Hill Mayor Stephen Mason. “We are thrilled to welcome Henry to the community and excited to have him as a part of our team.”

 Florsheim joins an Economic Development Department that was recently recognized as one of 63 economic development organizations accredited by the International Economic Development Council and was awarded the Workforce Excellence Award and Certificate of Achievement for Economic Excellence by the Texas Economic Development Council.

 “I was drawn to Cedar Hill because of its emphasis on preserving green space and on utilizing quality of life as an economic driver,” said Florsheim. “With millions of potential workers and visitors living close by, it's an ideal opportunity for an economic developer. My family and I can't wait to get settled and become part of the community.”

 A native of Monroe, LA, Florsheim is a graduate of the University of Louisiana at Monroe in Business Management and the University of Oklahoma’s Economic Development Institute. He has an MBA from Louisiana Tech University and received his IOM designation from the Institute of Organization Management, a four-year program of the United States Chamber of Commerce. He has served as a board member for the Texas Association of Business and the Texas Chamber of Commerce Executives.

View Article